Women's Network Celebrates 40 years!

September 19, 2017 6:00 AM | Women's Network (Administrator)

On Monday, September 18, 2017 the Women’s Network hosted our 2017 Annual Meeting at the Bit Factory located inside the Akron Global Business Accelerator. Our Annual Meeting is a time of celebration and gratitude for our members, sponsors, funders and numerous community supporters.

This year’s accomplishments as an organization included:

Numbers are based on the June 30, 2016-July 1, 2017 fiscal year

We heard from our founding members Judy Nicely and Barb Mushkat on why they started the Women’s Network, 40 years ago.

“Our goal was to remove the barriers to get women on boards within the community.”  Judy Nicely

“You do not have to be superwomen, we tried that in the 70’s and it was unsuccessful. The key is women supporting women.”  Barbara Mushkat

Board President, Kirsten Lino, discussed the changes in women’s rights, community representation and representation in the corporate pipeline over the last 40 years and how we, as an organization, plan to do research in Summit County on the gender pay and leadership gaps in the companies and organizations right here in our own community.


Board president Kirsten Lino discusses the legal progress made over the last 40 years and projects the change to come

We were also treated to a very special keynote speaker, Christine Amer Mayer of GAR Foundation who spoke passionately about women who typically work behind the scenes stepping forward into leadership positions and the collective effort for change in our community. We thank her for sharing her stories of her family and how her parents have impacted the woman she has become.

Christine Amer Mayer, president, GAR Foundation

Finally, the members present voted on our 2017-2018 board slate and congratulated our 3 Members of the Year. Congratulations to them all: 

Executive Committee

Kirsten Lino – Board President

Kathy Romito – 1st Vice President

Michele Root – 2nd Vice President

Montrella Jackson – Secretary

Mary Wheelock – Treasurer

Board of Directors

Laura Allio

Kelli Crawford-Smith

Laura DiNicola

Lashawrida Fellows

Laura Jo Hawk

Carin Helfer

Michelle Highsmith

Kim Huff

India Kaczmarek

Ann Reusch

Dr. Jennifer Savitski

Katie Sutter

Stephanie Torok

2017 Members of the Year: Nicole Davis, Kathy Romito and Michele Root

We want to take this moment to thank our funders, community partners, sponsors, members and volunteers for a great year! Cheers to another 40 with Women’s Network.

*Photos courtesy of member Marjorie Cook*

Women's Network

(330) 256-1122


Subscribe to Women's Network email newsletter:


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software